vomiting caterpillars – advice please

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Rebecca 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Rebecca
    Participant

I’m still new at this, learning as I go but need some advice please – questions are at end of post.
    (and also apologies for missing several replies re:cats needing food back last March! I forgot to check the post again after my own reply)

From the top: started February 2015 with 2 plants in garden, 6 indoors; 8 caterpillars, 4 died, 4 pupated but none hatched. Probably good I didn’t get more cats (helicopter parenting). Plants all survived winter outdoors in tubs. Used Biofeed, massive spring growth.

Spring 2015: major aphid infestation, cleared by hand; many visiting female monarchs; couldn’t make myself cull, had 65ish caterpillars so bought more plants, new total = 27 plants – about 30 hatched butterflies, several failures, probably unrecognised OE. Lesson = cull eggs.

Summer 2015: re-potted new swan plants + 3 tubs of “butterfly mix” flowers from seed. (Used commercial fertiliser not just organic Biofeed, don’t think the plants were as healthy)

Christmas 2015: Many many 2nd gen females; didn’t cull enough eggs = 437 caterpillars! Obviously not enough plants so as I ran out of leaves I’ve been doing *major* transfers of cats, from tiny 2mm newbies up to 5cm ready-to-pupate; initially *really* careful to take the scrap of leaf NOT touching caterpillars, started rushing too much and handling smaller and smaller cats.