Tauranga monarchs

Tagged: 

• Creator
    Topic

cindy botha
    Participant

Can someone tell me what has happened to the monarchs in Tauranga this year? I have been propagating monarchs in my garden for several years, and last year I had 30-40 butterflies hatching per week through summer. This year – no caterpillars, the very occasional butterfly – it’s heartbreaking. And not just me – everywhere i walk in the area there are huge uneaten swanplant bushes, which would never have been the case at this time of year. And no butterflies to be seen.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Dell
    Participant

Do you still have swan plants requiring hungry caterpillars? I have too many for the number of plants I have. I am east of Te Puke

cindy botha
    Participant

Thank you Jacqui – There are no ants – I do have yellow aphid infestations, but get them intermittently every year. Same with wasps, which last year took even fully grown caterpillars, but there are definitely fewer praying mantises this year too. and it’s the same all over Tauranga – everyone i know says there are just no butterflies this year, whereas I’m used to big numbers. This time last year I’d had nearly 200 chrysalises hatch – this year I’ve had not one caterpillar. It’s awful. But I hope as you say that a generation will happen before winter. Thanks for the feedback.

Jacqui

Hi Cindy

If you take a close look at your swan plants:

1. Are there ants running up and down the stems? Ants will be taking the eggs and possibly first instar caterpillars. You could install an ant bait at the foot of the plant or wherever you see ant trails.