Sprayed plants?

This topic contains 28 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 10 years, 4 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Anonymous

Hi all

I am new to the Monarch butterfly business. I made made my first attempt to assist their breeding last year and underestimated their food requirements. This year I was more organised and had back up plants ready to go. Last week I had 20 mostly large and all healthy caterpillars stripping through my plants at a great rate of knots. Thursday night I went to The Warehouse (Northlands, Christchurch) to buy new plants as I had just about run out again. They stripped one in one day and the next day (Saturday)moved onto plant 2 and started dying – first the smaller ones and then the larger ones. By yesterday (Sunday) they were pretty much all dead or close to it. I can’t see any other explanation other than that one or both of the plants I purchased had been sprayed. I have contacted The Warehouse to find out what the story is, but I just wondered if there could be another explanation I’m unaware of? It’s terribly disappointing when some of them were so close to going into chysalis. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Viewing 25 replies - 1 through 25 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Anonymous

Yes, the proof. I know where your coming from Jacqui.

Jacqui

Yes, they published a letter from us and an organic grower, and it’s an issue the trustees are always working on.

But it’s hard to prove anything, Robert. If people say they don’t spray, how can it be proven that it was them. I had a very similar problem with smoke from my neighbour’s incinerator giving me asthma – she said she wasn’t burning any pollutants, my lungs said she was… It was very hard to prove anything.

Anonymous

Has there been any follow up to the Dom Post?

Surly if they printed this, they would feel this could be a good story for a low-news day or one of the lifestyle supplements.