Newbie in this

This topic contains 8 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  raisingstripes 6 years, 7 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

raisingstripes
    Participant

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie at raising monarch and at the moment am having a hard time of it. I work In a preschool with a largbusway bush but all the leaves have been eaten! so I thought I’ll help them and went to a near by nursery and bought 4 more small bushes for my house. i took some cats to my bushes and they have been vomiting. Some have died after spreading my bushes! 😛 I am now attempting to grow my own after reading about poisoin. How long does the poison last

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies

raisingstripes
    Participant

Hi Josh! I’m near ttp but work in the hills. Where abouts are you? Have you got any seeds for the larger milkweed? Jill got me some and the leaves are thicker and bigger than the swan bush, meaning they last longer. Do swan plants die off in winter?

Josh652
    Participant

I live in Adelaide as well!!! My large swan plant just died off but one of my small plants is flowering ATM maybe when I have some seed I can give you some?? Where a outs are you??

raisingstripes
    Participant

We’ve got enough leaves to last over the week end. A lot of the caterpillars are very near the crysalis stage so hopefully we won’t need lots more. Your friend was great, she even brought her portable butterfly house to show the preschool. The kids were all very amaze by it.

About my adopted caterpillars; 1 medium one is not looking very good. It’s still crawling and eating. Should I a.kill it
    b. move it to a sick bay and feed with new leaves
    C. Leave it on the bush it is on