New..and a few qs.

Tagged: 

• This topic is empty.
  • Creator
    Topic

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi, I’m new to this whole ‘monarch business’ and looking for some advice. I’m in Christchurch and have spent the last month or so watching two monarch caterpillars devour some milkweed which randomly started growing around the base of my letterbox post. Last week both of them (Bert and Ernie! lol) stopped eating and began wandering around, mainly along my front fence then they disappeared. Luckily the next day one turned up again back on the milkweed and went into the j-formation on a broken piece of milkweed. I observed off and on for 24 hours and nothing happened. We’ve had cold wet weather here for the last 5-6 days and I assumed it had died. However, this morning it was warmer and to my surprised it went into a chrysalis after hanging for nearly 5 days! Is this normal? Now I’m wondering if I should move it? It’s in a fairly exposed spot and the frost are due to start shortly….how hardy are they? Should I bring it inside? If so, where should I put it?

Also, I’ve hunted around my garden looking for the other one (Ernie). How far do the roam? Is it likely to be somewhere in the near vicinity or should I give up looking?

If someone has any answers for me I’d be greatful.

Thanks,

Maxie.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Jacqui

No they won’t – they’ll be equally fascinated. 🙂 Just you watch!!!

Cheers

Jacqui

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thanks Jacqui,

Bert is now safely inside and residing on a branch which is sitting across the top of a large jar on my kitchen window sill.

And I found Ernie! I widened my search area. He’s hanging from the bottom of one of the weatherboards on the side of my house. I’ll leave him be..he’s nice and sheltered where he is. lol…He must be the smarter of the two.