Need help collecting small cabbage whites for research

• Creator
    Topic

ecocrazysean
    Participant

Hello fellow butterfly enthusiasts,

I am a graduate student from the University of Notre Dame over in the US. Recently come colleagues and we created a citizen science project (http://pierisproject.org) that enlists the help of the public to catch a few cabbage whites from across the world. That’s where we need your. We have a few from NZ, but we would like to have specimens from as many diverse locations as possible from across your beautiful country (both Islands). Having been to NZ, I know this is nearly every few kilometers =) We are hoping you can help us create something that looks similar to what we have achieved here in the US – see our map here http://www.pierisproject.org/collections-map.html.

Why do we want these butterflies?
    Interestingly, we are actually looking to do something similar to what was recently done with the monarch (http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v514/n7522/full/nature13812.html), but instead of looking for genes involved in migration we are looking for genes involved in local adaption to climate and also to reconstruct the invasion of the small cabbage white – where did it come from? has it invaded multiple times, from multiple locations? We will be sequencing the genome and measuring the morphology that everyone sends us (including the ones you send!).

We have a video about our project on our crowdfunding site here:
    http://experiment.com/pierisproject In short, this research will help us learn about how species will respond to environmental changes, such as climate change, and also better understand the role evolution plays in species invasions.

If you have any questions/comments/suggestions feel free to email me, we would love to hear them! (email me – pierisproject@gmail.com)

Cheers,
    Sean Ryan – Pieris Project founder
    PhD candidate
    University of Notre Dame

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)