How long to keep inside?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  jules 4 years, 3 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Jan
    Participant

Hi everyone, I’m new to the Butterfly Trust and already learning heaps. This year I brought the last of my caterpillars inside as frosts began, most of them were just a few days off going into a chrysalis. They are now starting to emerge – 4 since yesterday and about 8 to go. I had planned to let them go outside as soon as the sun appeared but due to the horrendous forecast I’m reluctant to do so just yet. Meantime I’ve converted a large dog crate into a butterfly house! It’s covered over with bird netting from the garden and I’ve put all the remaining chrysalis’ plus the butterflies inside along with sponges soaked in honey water and a potted polyanthus for good measure. There are also various bits of tree and wood stakes the chrysalis’ are attached to.
    From what I’ve read here this is probably the wrong thing to do, and they are in my nice warm office rather than outside (what a joy watching them emerge). Should I shift the whole arrangement out onto a covered deck, keep it indoors but cover it up so it’s darker, or leave well enough alone?
    I’d be very grateful for any advise or help. Thanks.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies

jules
    Participant

thanks for that. I actually put them on the swan plants this afternoon as 2 males were scrapping with each other and one ripped the others wing with its spiky foot ? Never seen that behavior before lol.

If it looks nasty over night I will go get them lol ! We only had 2 that had wing deformity out of all of the past couple of days , a lot are are a bit smaller than summer ones though. I am in Napier Caz

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153340031433343&set=a.10150512981658343.433991.749913342&type=1&theater