How far in to autumn will they stop laying eggs?

• Creator
    Topic

jules
    Participant

I am still getting the odd Monarch visiting the swan plants on sunny days and laying. This is my first year so I am unsure of how long they keep laying and can successfully grow?

I am still bringing in the very largest at their last instar and having them protected from my praying mantis plague. I have them in the conservatory which is warm during the day, but outdoor temp at night, it is well ventilated. Will they survive when hatched and migrate? I still have loads of leaves on the second planting of swan plants for them all.

Loads of questions there really. Any input and information appreciated.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Jacqui

Meeting tonight at Kerikeri now at Wharepuke, 5pm due to change of venue at short notice by The Pear Tree. Hope to meet lots of locals there.

Similar meeting Thursday night, 13th June, 5pm at DOC, Whangarei. See Coming Events for name of road.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi from Northland, I brought a caterpillar in two days ago which i found on my last swan plant (also dug up the plant) 🙂 Will I know when he is ready to go onto the next stage to chrysallis..he seems very slow…but eating well 🙂 Thanks

Jacqui

Great to hear, PST. I’m up in the Far North at present and seen eggs and caterpillars of varying sizes. And an overwintering cluster of Monarchs at Tauranga Bay – hope to get photos today.

pst
    Participant