Gardeners advice needed! Growing Swan plants from seeds in pod.

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Jacqui 4 years, 7 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

notsotypicalblonde
    Participant

Hi, although I have been raising monarchs for a few years now I am not a gardenerand have no experience growing from seed. I was kindly given some seeds in pods from a very large swan plant (huge actually! More like a big bush!!!) and was wondering what’s the best way to grow these i.e. germinate them. What do I need to use, keeping costs down preferable but want best results I can. Is it still worth trying to grow them at this time? (I have a little plastic greenhouse I can keep them in)

Also any other help you could give me with the whole growing swamplands thing because I usually buy mine as small potted plants from the nurseries
    Thanks in advance
    Katrina

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Jacqui

You need to pick the seeds the day before they go everywhere on the wind so here’s a trick – use a clothes peg to keep the ones that look like they may be ready, closed. Whenever you get time (every couple of days) take the peg off, and if the pod has started to split, you know the seed is perfectly ripe.

I have also seen people use a piece of tape – or you could go to the $2 shop or similar and get the little gauze bags and put the pods into these. Each pod has hundreds of seeds – yes, hundreds, but be worth counting, so you don’t need too many!

Also, I squeeze the pods a little bit, and when they start to deflate (sag, give in to the touch) you know that they’re just about ready.

Knightfamily
    Participant