School Butterfly Garden

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  tramp 3 years, 3 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

bethlehemschool
    Participant

Hi Everyone !
    I am very new to butterfly gardening and am currently doing the online course run by the Monarch Butterfly Trust. I am currently working on an Enviro Schools project at my children’s school. We are in the process of relocating our existing butterfly house and gardens to a dedicated Enviro Schools area. I was wondering if you had any tips/ ideas/ suggestions for establishing a school butterfly garden ? We live in Tauranga.
    Thanks

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies

tramp
    Participant

Hi Bethlehem School Butterflies
    this is Mary Parkinson you are welcome to phone me evenings 576 4752 if it is fine I will be at the quarry tomorrow morning,
    You are welcome to see what we are doing etc etc what plants that suit our area and ask any questions and decide what you want to do
    Happy to help . Tramp

Caryl

That’s great. A tip from me. Transplanted seedlings usually droop, often quite badly. I put all my seedlings in a dark place for several days where they are more able to recover. It makes a huge difference.

bethlehemschool
    Participant

Thank you Caryl. I am actually in the process of madly potting up swan plant seedlings at the moment.

bethlehemschool
    Participant

Thanks for the advice Jacqui! At this stage our focus will be on attracting the Monarch butterflies. I am keen to hear from butterfly gardeners in our area that have had success with other butterflies. I would definitely be interested in planting other host plants to attract some other butterfly species.
    I have visited the Butterfly Garden at Te Puna Quarry and intend to make contact with Mary Parkinson.