Help needed to help the Monarchs through winter

This topic contains 19 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  smithereen 3 years, 10 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Fran82_NZ
    Participant

Hi folks, I’m brand new to this wonderful site & I hope some of you can assist me. I live in Auckland & like the rest of the country the temps are now dropping. I have 2 big swan plants in my garden and I’m surprised to see the caterpillars are still out there at this time of year, munching their way through the leaves, getting fat & turning into beautiful Monarchs. Sadly though, I am finding newly hatched Monarchs struggling to dry their wings in the damp cold air, lying on the grass, in the bottom of the garden, even attached to my screen door – I wonder if it’s just too cold for them to survive 🙁
    In a desperate attempt to help one last night I bought it indoors and fed it sugar water (which I read was quite a common way to feed them) and I released it back outside into the morning sun today and seemed to be doing alright.
    I know we can’t save them all, but if anyone can offer me some tips/advice/suggestions with regards to indoor housing/net castles, feeding, how long to keep them indoors to that you can give me to help these beautiful butterlies through the colder months.

Thank you all,
    Fran

Viewing 19 replies - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Replies

smithereen
    Participant

Hi Everyone