Comparing experiences with monarchs between Canada and New Zealand

This topic contains 11 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Jacqui 4 years, 7 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

cadymoyer
    Participant

Hi,

my name is Cady, I’m a museum studies graduate student at the University of Toronto in Canada, and I am doing a project on monarchs. It wasn’t until I started my project that I even knew there was an established population of monarchs in New Zealand! Since then, I’ve read about this population, but its hard to get the whole picture of what a species is like in its environment without seeing it or actually talking to people about it.

I was wondering if anyone wanted to share with me their experiences of monarchs in New Zealand through this Forum post? I am really interested in what you know about monarchs in New Zealand and how that might be the same and/or different from what i know of monarchs.

Thanks!

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Jacqui
    Keymaster

Oh yes! Forgot to mention Araujia sericefera which in the top half of the North Island is a shocking pest. Grows rampant up trees in parks and in untended places so it would be almost impossible to eliminate it. They were talking about bringing in an Admiral from South America but that never eventuated, now they’re planning to bring in a rust to control it.

http://www.nzpps.org/journal/59/nzpp_590180.pdf

milkweed
    Participant

Correction, moth plant is not native to NZ, but arrived in the 1880’s from South America as an ornamental species. It’s a cousin of the milkweed as it’s in the Asclepiadoideae family. In North America it’s often called ‘cruel vine,’ for obvious reasons.
    I’m also trying hard to keep my other milkweed vine Cynanchum laeve alive but it doesn’t like NZ conditions much where I live. It seems to grow well in the green house but otherwise grows slowly then dies off.

milkweed
    Participant