Caterpillars failing to J

This topic contains 21 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  rob cooper 1 year, 5 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

ggh
    Participant

Hi, I’ve planted milkweed before, but this is my first time raising monarchs indoors. My five-year-old found some caterpillars on the footpath abandoning a stripped-bare swan plant bush, and we took them home, buying a couple of little plants at Bunnings, which they immediately devoured. A few of them died not long after we brought them home (it was hot, and I wasn’t especially surprised – they’d been through a lot) but one formed a chrysalis within a day or two, and two others were eating well. A fourth fell off its leaf and lay in the dirt, looking like it was trying to do crunches. I hoped it was pupating, but eventually it just had an anal prolapse and died.

Time went on with more plants we bought from Moore’s Valley, and a beautiful butterfly emerged from our chrysalis, six eggs that were on the plants we bought hatched, and are eating away, and a couple of days ago, Spoon, one of the original ones, and a real sweetheart, got restless, stopped eating and started looking around for something. We discovered him a little later, not J-ing, but strapped underneath a leaf by silk on several sets of feet. I freed his middle feet so he could hang (by a single strand), but he still didn’t form a J – he just tried to do crunches constantly. He did them for two days, getting weaker and weaker until he died. There are more ugly details that I’ll spare you. I really wish I knew better what the range of normal caterpillar behaviour was – I would have euthanised him right away if I did.