Disease and Nature

This topic contains 7 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Jacqui 7 years, 8 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Jacqui
    Keymaster

A disease called Ophryocystis elektroscirrha or Oe has been observed in Monarchs here in Russell this season; Perhaps this is not the first time it has affected my Monarchs, and I’ve been playing with them for 30 or 40 years, maybe longer, and have noticed similar symptoms before.

However, I have never identified Oe for sure before – always been too reluctant to do so. This year have a microscope and found a scientist who did say emphatically it’s Oe.

Oe infects the Monachs in various ways, reducing the "success rate" or emergence. They often "get stuck" in their pupae, the pupae are often discoloured with black spots. I also have some pupae that go very brown and smelly and die – and suspect that this is caused by really bad Oe.

Anyway with Oe, it’s not something that the typical Monarch butterfly lover will be affected by.

I know that my Monarchs were relatively clean until the wasps died off at the end of the summer. Then we had hundreds of Monarch larvae downtown – and instead of farming them out all over the district (which would have been a more natural way of doing it) I brought them all home to my butterfly house, and brought lots of plant matter in too. And of course the disease would have spread like wildfire.

You can see more about Oe here:

http://www.butterfliesetc.com/oe.html

If we don’t want to get into farming butterflies (as you’ll see in the pictures on that site) there are other ways we can address the problem.